I decided to go for it.

Girl in the world…but mostly Illinois

Sweet Sounds of the STAX Museum

3 Comments

This summer I checked something big off my life-list…The Dirty South Road Trip: a lazy drive from Chicago, to Memphis, to New Orleans, and back. I went with one of my best girls who happens to be an epic travel companion and I think we did it right (further research is needed, obviously). Here are some highlights:

New Orleans:

Jacques-Imo’s: Here we filled up on traditional ‘Nola cooking. Hello butter. I’m Maddie.

Jaun’s Flying Burrito: We broke our own rules and ate here more than once. We couldn’t even walk by it a second time without going in. Cucumber Margs. Fish Tacos. Money cheese sauce. Why fight it.

La Boulangerie: We may have gone here multiple times as well. But it’s a bakery, so the same rules don’t apply. Blue cheese bread. Olive bread. We were in such a frenzy eating a loaf in the car that marmalade was spilled all over my stick shift. It was so good, worth a sticky shifter.

Blueberry Tart from La Boulangerie

-Greenwood Cemetery: Not food related but such a beautiful cemetery. We could have spent much more time wandering around this place. Around every turn there was something to marvel at.

Tomb at Greenwood Cemetery

Tomb at Greenwood Cemetery

Memphis:

-The Cheesecake Corner: Cheesecake and coffee by candlelight at a table for two.

Drive-In Movies: I LOVE drive-in movies. LOVE THEM. I’ve never been to one like this though- open 7 days a week with three screens running simultaneously. We were so giddy even Snow White and the Huntsman was a wonderful experience.

The Stax Museum of American Soul Music: The last day of our trip was a dreary one. We were starting to look forward to being back at home, sleeping in our own beds, cooking in our own kitchens. We were a little too close to finishing on a note resembling the drizzly weather…but we decided to spend the day at the Stax Museum. Such a great decision. This museum takes you through the history of soul music from its roots in country, gospel, and blues, through the civil rights movement, and a bit beyond. Stax Records brought Memphis talent out of the woodwork and was a truly incredible place to be in the ‘60’s. I ate it up. While we were walking around I kept a list of artists I already liked/wanted to learn more about and made a mix for our listening pleasure…here you go:

  1. Get Out of My Life Woman– The Mad Lads
  2. Summertime– Sam Cooke
  3. Stand By Me– Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  4. You’ll Lose a Good Thing– Carla Thomas
  5. Who’s Lovin’ You– The Jackson 5
  6. Hold On I’m Comin’– Sam & Dave
  7. Green Onions– Booker T & the MG’s
  8. I’ll Take You There– The Staple Singers
  9. Walkin’ the Dog– Rufus Thomas
  10. Try a Little Tenderness– Otis Redding
  11. I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You)– Aretha Franklin
  12. Hoodoo Lady Blues– Memphis Minnie
  13. Knock On Wood– Eddie Floyd
  14. Tell Me Something Good– Rufus ft. Chaka Khan
  15. (Night Time Is) The Right Time– Ray Charles
  16. Sex Machine– James Brown
  17. Can You Get to That– Funkadelic
  18. Shaft– Isaac Hayes
  19. Proud Mary– Ike and Tina Turner

    Getting in the mood at The Stax Museum. Photo courtesy of my friend :)

    Getting in the mood at The Stax Museum. Photo courtesy of my friend :)

3 thoughts on “Sweet Sounds of the STAX Museum

  1. My STAX experience was very very similar. Great place.

  2. “It was so good, worth a sticky shifter.” (that’s what she said…) OK I’M DONE

Leave a Reply

