I decided to go for it.

Girl in the world…but mostly Illinois

Road-tested POWER Cookies

Leave a comment

This summer I went on a grand roadtrip adventure to Louisiana. My roadtrip co-conspirator was flying in to Memphis so I drove the first leg of the journey (Chicago->Memphis) on my own. Being able to sit still/pay attention to the road for that amount of time with no one else there to entertain me pretty much means that I am going to eat constantly. The rational goes, “Like a car, I also require fuel for this journey”. This may or may not justify consuming a cooler full of snacks in several hours time but it’s just me and the open road so who the hell cares. Jerky, little baggies of chocolate chips and raisins, cheese and crackers, an assortment of beverages, whatever delicious leftovers I stole from my parents’ fridge…it’s all fair game.

Being productive while the oven was preheating…

This trip specifically was fueled by POWER Cookies. More substantial and a little less sweet than your average cookie, these babies are truly road-tested. As in, I made about a thousand of them for the trip and gave them a serious run for their money by leaving them to bake for over a week in the Louisiana power-cooker that was my Honda Civic. Let me tell you, they maintained their composure like they were born for a life on the road.

Gimme that POWER

My mom gave me this recipe a while back. She came to visit last winter when I was having a rough couple of weeks, bearing BAGS OF GROCERIES and BOTTLES OF WINE. That is relief, my friends. We ate a wheel of brie, popped a few bottles, and tried a couple new recipes that ended up being family favorites. This was one of them.

POWER Cookies

  • 1 cup butter
  • 3/4 cups brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup quinoa flour/flakes
  • 2 cups regular (not quick-cooking) oatmeal
  • 1 cup raisins

DO IT:

  1. Place the rack in center of the oven and preheat to 375 degrees F.
  2. In a big bowl, cream the butter with the sugar.
  3. Add the eggs, vanilla, and honey and mix until incorporated.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix the whole wheat flour, flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon together.
  5. Stir dry ingredients into wet ingredients.
  6. Fold the oatmeal, quinoa flour, and raisins into the batter. It’s going to be thick! Maybe use your hands to mix it all up.
  7. Drop tablespoons-sized clumps of dough onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  8. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the edges start to get some color.
  9. After taking the cookies out, let them sit for 5 minutes on the baking sheet before transferring them to a rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

