I decided to go for it.

Girl in the world…but mostly Illinois

C-O-O-K-I-E Spells “Comfort”

1 Comment

Last week marked the end of my scholastic career. All of a sudden I’m lacking the predictable structure of student life. Before when I would lay on my bed with a glass of tea or read a book in the lawn I was taking a break. Relaxing with purpose. Now I’ve got (relatively) all the time in the world to lay around and stare at the clouds or whatever and all of a sudden, hanging out, doing my fave relaxing activities makes me feel LAZY. It’s just too much of a good thing.

I think it’s probably pretty natural to take a few weeks to adjust to a wildly different schedule in a new location but it would be comforting to have an answer for questions like “What are you going to do?” and “Where are you going to go?”. Really, answering these questions is a matter of scope. RIGHT NOW= I’m going to celebrate the reclamation of my personal time by making a ton of chocolate chip cookies while rocking The Fugees. LATER= I’m going home to my parents where I’ll undoubtedly be having some quality family time. Hopefully I’ll get to take advantage of not having a regular schedule by visiting friends who live out of town. And it would be great if sometime in the next few weeks I could pinpoint how exactly I want to spend the rest of my life.

Butta and suga

In an world where the future is uncertain, I find solace in the predictable awesomeness of this chocolate chip cookie recipe. It’s the one my mom has made forever and it was probably the first recipe hers I ever wrote down for my own personal use. Supposedly it’s the recipe for Mrs. Fields Chocolate Chip Cookies, so I have to give some credit to the good lady Fields, but we’ve made it so many times I’ve come to think of it as a family recipe.

Batter up

This recipe makes so much dough. SO MUCH. If you’re like my family, this is perfect because it means that on any given day there will be a cache of cookie dough in the freezer. The majority of this dough will never realize it’s cookie potential, but rather will stay forever young and be enjoyed as a doughy treat.

Chillin

Mrs. Fields Chocolate Chip Cookies
Two tips: Chilling the balled dough for 15 minutes or so before baking will give you a taller cookie. Also, if you want to cut the recipe in half (like I said, it makes a ridiculous amount of dough) half all the ingredients but use 2 eggs instead of 3.

1 pound of butter, softened
2 cups brown sugar
1 1/2 cups white sugar
3 eggs
2 T vanilla
5 1/2 cups flour
1 cup quick oats
1 1/2 t baking soda
1 1/2 t salt
3 cups chocolate chips

DO IT:
Combine the butter and sugars. Add in eggs and vanilla. Mix dry ingredients in a separate bowl and slowly add the dry to the wet, mixing well until creamed. Finally, add in the chocolate chips. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

One thought on “C-O-O-K-I-E Spells “Comfort”

  1. Love this! Love cookies! And love you!

Leave a Reply

